My first 5k in the books

Well folks, after a lot of sweat, tears, and miles I have successfully completed my first 5k. It was an amazing feeling. I’ve never been able to complete a mile in my life before this point and to go another two miles after that without running out of breath has given me a feeling of accomplishment I didn’t think was possible. My wonderful sister in law signed up with me.

Photo0207

This is her.

She has been my accontabili-buddy through this entire thing and I’m not sure if I could have done it without her. She’s been a real inspiration, I look forward to running with her in future races.

There were thousands of people there, it was very overwhelming. I’d like to think that the breathing exercises I had to do to keep from freaking out really helped with my running.

Photo0211

Breathe… That’s the key.

When I was getting ready to leave for the race, my father in law (who is a running aficionado) told me to start slow and finish strong, and finish strong I did. I could see the finish line in the distance and it was the most beautiful site I could have seen at that moment. I can only describe it as seeing someone you love very much after a long absence. My adrenaline levels went through the roof and I broke out into a full sprint. My sister and I crossed that finish line and I let out a triumphant cry of victory.

What was my time? Well let me tell you. We ran a little over a 5k (5.7km) and I got a time of 43 minutes and 23 seconds. BAM!

Photo0210

Post race selfie

Despite the large crowds, it was a beautiful day to get out and really prove to myself that I have the ability to complete something that I set out to do. Now to get ready for a 10k in October. Duke City Marathon here I come!

3 thoughts on “My first 5k in the books

  1. Pingback: Fun in the mud | Making my fat cry, one calorie at a time

Leave a Reply

